Day 36-Peachy Summer Salad

When pulling into my garage today, I realized I had two things in my refrigerator: kale and slightly over ripened bananas, and I was not making a smoothie with those items. I decided to grab a couple of things at Sunflower Market to make dinner. Inspiration hit me in the produce section, grilled peaches over a cold salad (I may have done a small dance near the peaches)! I love grilled peaches; however, I do not have a griddle pan to get those pretty grill marks, so a girl’s got improvise. This salad had nice balance of flavors, no one ingredient overpowered the other, perfect synchronization!

Grilled Peach-Kale Salad

Serves Two (My dinner and tomorrow’s lunch)

Ingredients:

  • 2 peaches
  • 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil
  • 2 cups kale
  • 1/4 cup almond slivers
  • 1 tablespoon of sliced cheese (your choice, I used Swiss)
  • Season with salt and pepper
  • Dressing: 1 tablespoon olive oil and about a teaspoon of lime juice

Directions:

  1. Heat frying pan on medium heat; using a pastry brush, brush the pan with olive oil.
  2. While pan is heating, cut peaches into quarters. Place peaches in the pan with skin side up.
  3. Let peaches sizzle for about 10 minutes and remove from heat and set aside.
  4. Cut and wash kale and place in a bowl.
  5. Add the almonds slivers and cheese to bowl with the kale.
  6. Season with salt and pepper.
  7. For dressing: stir olive and lime juice together.
  8. Put kale mixture onto a plate, top with the peaches and drizzle dressing.


2 thoughts on “Day 36-Peachy Summer Salad

Leave a Reply

